Strong American Record In Atlanta, Where Nick Kyrgios & Alex de Minaur Have Succeeded | ATP Tour

The Truist Atlanta Open, which made its ATP Tour debut in 2010, is the primary American cease within the North American hard-court season.

The ATP 250 would have been held this week if not for the Tour suspension as a result of COVID-19 pandemic. seems at 5 issues to know concerning the occasion.

A Handful Of Titles
For the reason that match made its debut in 2010, eight editions of the singles occasion have been gained by People. Mardy Fish (2010-’11) and Andy Roddick (2012) claimed the opening three titles in Atlanta, earlier than John Isner made his mark.

Following wins towards Christian Harrison, James Blake and Lleyton Hewitt, Isner claimed his maiden Atlanta trophy in a dramatic 2013 remaining. The 6’10” dwelling favorite contested three tie-breaks towards Kevin Anderson and saved every of the 11 break factors he confronted to take the title after two hours and 54 minutes.

Isner dropped simply two units throughout his subsequent two visits to Georgia, the place he attended college between 2003 and 2007, to finish a memorable match hattrick. After a straight-sets loss to Nick Kyrgios within the 2016 championship match, Isner claimed back-to-back remaining victories towards Ryan Harrison in 2017 and 2018 to spice up his Atlanta trophy depend to 5.


Three Visits, Three Finals
Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan have made three appearances in Atlanta, successful two titles from three championship matches. The People claimed wins of their opening 11 matches on the occasion, lifting the trophy in 2015 and 2017 earlier than a run to final yr’s remaining.

The Bryans twice got here inside a degree of a 3rd Atlanta trophy towards Dominic Inglot and Austin Krajicek, however the British-American pairing held its nerve to safe a 6-4, 6-7(5), 11-9 victory. The brothers share the match report for doubles titles with fellow two-time titlist Matthew Ebden (2011-’12).

Download ATP Tour App

Small Transfer, Huge Distinction
The ATP 250 could have solely moved throughout the road to a unique plot of land at Atlanta Station, however final yr’s minor relocation has already made a significant optimistic affect on the match.

“We’ve gone from two acres to 5, we now have extra shade, extra air con and extra fan activation areas,” stated Match Director Eddie Gonzalez. “We need to be referred to as being participant pleasant, fan pleasant and sponsor pleasant, and we really feel like we’ve completed this in yr one.”

One of many many beneficiaries of the transfer has been the match’s fanbase. Reilly Opelka, a two-time semi-finalist in Atlanta, observed the improved services for supporters throughout his fourth go to to the occasion in 5 years.

“The indoor seating, the lined shaded space I feel is quite a bit higher for the followers,” stated Opelka final yr. “We had a reasonably good crowd on the market at the moment and I feel the stadium has quite a bit to do with that.”

Kyrgios Ends Isner’s Streak
Kyrgios loved a dream debut in Atlanta in 2016, when he claimed 4 wins to choose up his second ATP Tour title. The Australian beat Jared Donaldson in straight units, earlier than efficiently navigating three-set battles towards Fernando Verdasco and Yoshihito Nishioka to succeed in the championship match.

Kyrgios confronted three-time defending champion John Isner for the trophy. The Canberra native entered the ultimate with an 0-2 ATP Head2Head report towards Isner, however claimed the win in two tie-break units to take the crown and break Isner’s 15-match successful streak in Atlanta.

<a href=Nick Kyrgios” />

Dominant Demon
Till final yr, Kyrgios was the youngest champion within the match’s historical past. However countryman Alex de Minaur broke that report in emphatic trend in 2019, dropping simply seven first-serve factors throughout 4 matches to assert the crown.

The #NextGenATP Aussie earned wins towards Bradley Klahn, Bernard Tomic, Opelka and Taylor Fritz to earn his second ATP Tour title. De Minaur didn’t face a break level en path to the trophy, changing into solely the third participant to take action since stats started being saved in 1991. Tommy Haas (2007 Memphis) and Isner (2017 Newport) are the one different gamers to attain the feat.

Source link

Get involved!

Get Connected!

Come and join our community. Expand your network and get to know new people!


No comments yet